Do You Have the Authority?!?

Due to his line of work, my husband is away for about two or three weeks at a time, then he spends 5 or 6 days with us. It’s hard having him away so much, both on myself and the kids, but we try to make the most of the time we have together. And the kids have basically gotten used to the idea that I do everything: I’m the one who sets the rules, I’m the disciplinarian, I’m the cook, the maid, the butt washer…you know how it goes. But the kids also understand that when he’s home, his word is as solid as mine.

Or at least I thought they understood that….

On one of his recent times home, he said something like, “Now go get ready for bed. Get in your Pj’s and wash up, then you can spend a few minutes watching TV.” So they all start down the hall way. Just then my three year old shrugs her shoulders and says, “Did mom say so??”

I was laughing too hard to tell her that her father had the authority to give her that kind of permission.

What do you think?

