They’re Not ALWAYS Punks

Today my oldest son did something that was really sweet…

He hands me a pen and says: “The teacher gave this to me today as a reward for being good and participating. I want you to have it because I’m so proud of you for getting your novel published.” [It’s called Normal Calm and available through Amazon.]

It was really touching. See….they’re not always punks. Despite the fact that every time I’m on the phone with my mom and she asks, “What is all that noise? What are they doing?” I always respond the same way: “They’re trying to drive me insane! It’s their goal in life to make me crazy! They won’t rest until it happens!” Despite that, they have their moments.

Of course, about two and a half seconds later my second child storms through the room, grabs the pen with his quicker-than-lightening hands and screams, “I’M GONNA THROW IT FROM THE BALCONY!” And I have to chase after him and wrestle him to the floor.

Maybe it’s not that they’re not always punks…Maybe it’s that they don’t always have to be punks at the same time. Maybe that’s it.

 

What do you think?

