What Goes Around…

We’ve all heard that saying, “What goes around, comes around.” Usually it’s in reference to negative energy, but it can include good deeds as well–sort of like ‘paying it forward.’ Well, this is a strong belief in Islam, especially with regards to giving charity. Many verses in the Qur’an, and many sayings of Prophet Mohamed (Peace be upon him), encourage us to help others, stating even that when we give in charity, it will be returned to us many times over. To give you just one, brief example, verse 18 in chapter 57 of the Qu’ran states, “Indeed, the men who practice charity and the women who practice charity and [they who] have loaned Allah a goodly loan – it will be multiplied for them, and they will have a noble reward.”

I believe this…I’ve always believed that when you put out goodness, it will only come back to reward you. But this month it actually happened right before my eyes…

One of the doormen in my apartment building was telling me that he doesn’t have enough money to buy the medicine he needs. I usually don’t hesitate to help him out, but this month I knew that my family’s financial state would be tight. We had obligations this month that made me worry if we would even make it to the end of the month. For a minute I considered not helping the doorman. I considered it, then I decided I had an obligation to help him, because even though it would be tight for us, we had it much better than he did.

A few days later, one of the former doormen also showed up, asking for money. Again, I hesitated. It was going to be really tight if I helped him. Really tight. But again, I decided that I had to.

And I just prayed that somehow we would make it to the end of the month. Then it happened…

About ten days later, my husband, who is away often because of his line of work, came home and handed me his bonus. A bonus he got which we had not planned on nor had we expected. A bonus which was more than 12 times the amount I had given to those two doormen–more than twelve times as much!! All I can do is praise and thank God.

I don’t expect this one event to change hearts, but for those who are still searching, it certainly gives you something to think about.

What do you think?

