A Simple Apology

I was LIVID!! Smoke was starting to come out of my ears!! I mean, how often do I even see him during the whole month? And here he was, on the phone with a friend…for TWO WHOLE HOURS!! I didn’t care if he was helping this guy with an issue he was having with his fiancee!! Two hours was just too much to take!

And I wasn’t going to let it go.  As soon as he hangs up, I told myself, I’m gonna let him have it! He never gets it when I tell him he spends too much time on the phone, so this was not going to be pretty.

Finally, he hung up. And walked over to me. When he was about 6 or 7 feet away, he says–repeatedly as he continues to walk–“I’m  sorry. I’m sorry. I’m sorry. I’m sorry.”

And somehow…magically…that was all it took to put out my anger.

Sometimes a simple apology makes the biggest difference.

 

 

What do you think?

