When Is It My Business??

When does it become your business to get involved?

Is it when you see her being hit, being beaten?

Is it when you see her being cursed at, being thrashed with words?

Is it when you see her being yelled at–not cursed, but embarrassed in public?

When??? When does it become your right to get involved in this stranger’s life?

Along my walk I saw this young couple, maybe engaged, but definitely not married. And they wanted to cross the street–the highway. And the stop light was about 50 yards away. So (I presume) she said something like, “Let’s just go cross at the light.” And he responded (again, I assume) with something like, “We’ll be fine. Everyone crosses. Just hold my hand.” And maybe she repeated her request. That’s when I heard him yell at her, “SO YOU’RE NOT GOING TO CROSS WITH ME?? YOU’RE NOT GOING TO CROSS WITH ME??”  She, of course, just remained quiet and allowed herself to be lead by him.

And I didn’t say anything, or do anything. But their image haunts me even days later. I should have told her that this form of disrespect will only increase with time. I should have told her that she deserves someone who will value her opinion and take it… not just brush it off because it may be different from his. I should have told her not to let anyone detract her from doing the right thing, no matter who they are, no matter how much you think you love them. I should have told HIM that manliness is not about raising your voice or flexing your muscles. I should have…but I didn’t.

God forgive me.

One thought on “When Is It My Business??

What do you think?

