I Sound Like a Dork

microphone-1003561_640

Let me be completely honest with you, I have never been fond of the sound of my voice. I feel like it’s screechy and the exact opposite of smooth. But like so many other attributes that are less than flattering, I have grown into it; it is mine, and I accept it as part of who I am. Don’t get me wrong, I won’t be breaking out into song anytime soon, but I won’t be shrinking away from listening to myself either.

At least that’s what I keep telling myself….

Last night, Sarah Rhea Werner, hostess of the Write Now podcast, interviewed me. It was so fun talking about my upcoming book and my writing journey. You know that high you get after a great conversation? That’s what I was feeling. But with it being past one in the morning my time, that didn’t lend for a very restful night. It was such a great experience, though, that I would do it again in a heartbeat!

I lay there, twisting and turning in bed replaying my answers, going through all the ‘Doh! I should’ve said THIS!’ and the ‘Oh my God, how did I not mention THAT!’ moments. We all go through that to some extent after conversations, don’t we? (Please say ‘yes.’) And it all just made me wonder: was I clear enough in my message? Will the audience understand what I meant when I explained why being God-conscious is important and how it ties into our writing? Or will it be something they roll their eyes at and tune out? Will they be able to follow the excerpt that I read? Will it pique their interest enough to have them look up the book?

Once the episode airs, I’ll be posting it here for sure. And you’ll have to tell me whether or not I sound like a dork! For now, here’s the link to Sarah’s podcast. She offers great advice for writers in Write Now and holds lively conversations with various authors on Coffee Break. Check her out!

What do you think?

